Question

P8 lite factory restore - old google account?

  • 16 June 2019
  • 1 reply
  • 135 views

I gave my old p8 lite to a friend after a factory restore as i got a p20 lite. It is saying that the device is looking for the old Google account linked to it but i though a factory restore wipes everything? Is there sny way he can use his Google account? Otherwise the phone is useless to him

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +6
@Denmal

Sorry to hear about the situation that prompted you to write to us.

If a factory reset is performed without removing the Google account prior, it activates the FRP lock (factory reset protection), which is an Android security feature to protect phones from unauthorized factory resets. If this is indeed the case and the phone doesn't accept any Google accounts, then the phone will need to be unlocked at our authorized service center.

Hope this information proves useful. Let us know if you have any further inquiries.

Best regards,
Max

Reply